Category Archives: A Woman of Distinction

Remembering Roz 35 Years Later

Rosalind Russell died 35 years ago today, on November 28, 1976. This seems rather significant because 35 years is a long time. Sometimes I can’t believe that she had already been dead just over 13 years when I was born. I was clearly born in the wrong era, but I am glad I was able to get to know her through her films. I am very appreciative for TCM for providing me with most of her films, as well as DVDs that have already been released. More and more seem to be coming out on DVD recently, and that’s a great thing!

I have not been able to watch a film in her honor today, but I hope to watch one soon–at her comedic best because this is how she is best remembered. A friend of mine suggested A Woman of Distinction because it’s her favorite one so far, and now I kind of want to watch that one, too. It’s hilarious with all the physical comedic stunts (which I have always loved–hello, I Love Lucy fan here!) and of course, I love the eventual romance that develops in the film.

Anyway, on this day, I wanted to share a video with you all that my dear, dear friend Irina made in honor of this day today. It is a video to remember Roz and it is dedicated to me–how sweet is that! It is actually the third Roz video that has been dedicated to me… haha! 🙂

Enjoy–I think it is really lovely!

TCM is My Best Friend

Well, it’s pretty obvious TCM (U.S.) is amazing to someone like me because one again, they are showing another Rosalind Russell marathon… tomorrow.

I’ll show you a list again of what they will show tomorrow:

The Velvet Touch (1948)
6:30 am (ET)/3:30 am (PT)
After accidentally killing her lecherous producer, a famous actress tries to hide her guilt.
Starring: Rosalind Russell, Leo Genn
Tell it to the Judge (1949)
8:15 am (ET)/5:15 am (PT)
To win back her husband, a divorcée pretends to be married to a loser.
Starring: Rosalind Russell, Robert Cummings
   
A Woman of Distinction (1950)
9:45 am (ET)/6:45 am (PT)
A publicity hungry press agent creates a romance between an icy college dean and a visiting lecturer.
Starring: Rosalind Russell, Ray Milland
   
Never Wave at a WAC (1950)
11:15 am (ET)/8:15 am (PT)
  A divorced socialite joins the Army hoping it will improve her love life.
Starring: Rosalind Russell, Paul Douglas
  
Picnic (1955)
12:45 pm (ET)/9:45 am (PT)
A handsome drifter ignites passions at a small-town Labor Day picnic.
Starring: William Holden, Kim Novak
   
Gypsy (1962)
2:45 pm (ET)/11:45 am (PT)
A domineering mother pushes her two daughters to burlesque stardom.
Starring: Rosalind Russell, Natalie Wood
     
Mrs. Pollifax–Spy (1971)
5:15 pm (ET)/2:15 pm (PT)
A society woman volunteers to root out enemy agents in Albania.
 Starring: Rosalind Russell, Darren McGavin
And if you don’t live in the U.S. or you don’t have the TCM channel, why not have a marathon of your own? 😉 Have a great week, everyone.